District-level Teachers of the Year named

The Cheatham County School District has named three exceptional educators as the 2020-2021 District-Level Teachers of the Year.

“It is an honor to celebrate these teachers. This achievement recognizes their dedication and success working with our students. It is a title well-earned and well-deserved. They are true representatives of the quality educators we have working in our district,” said Director of Schools Dr. Cathy Beck.

The 2020-2021 District-Level Teachers of the Year are:

High school: Kathryn Van Mater, Cheatham County Central High School English teacher. Van Mater has taught for six years – all at CCCHS. She is the Student Council sponsor, coordinates Homecoming and is a Level 5 teacher. Van Mater earned a bachelor’s degree from Austin Peay State University (English major and education minor) and a master’s degree in education (curriculum and instruction) from Capella University.

Middle school: Sue Mullican, Cheatham Middle School social studies teacher. Mullican is in her fourth year of teaching – all at CMS. She earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Lubbock Christian University, a master’s degree in ministry from Abilene Christian University and a master’s of education degree in educational practice from Lipscomb University.

Elementary school: Misty Stehle, East Cheatham Elementary School reading interventionist. Stehle is in her sixth year of teaching. She taught second grade for five years before becoming the school’s RTI teacher in October. She earned her bachelor’s degree in education K-6 and master’s degree in reading – both from Austin Peay State University. She is a mentor teacher and Lighthouse Reading Action team leader at ECES. She’s also a member of the countywide virtual learning committee.

The three will now go on to compete for Teacher of the Year for the Mid-Cumberland region. If they are selected as a regional winner, they will then advance for consideration for Teacher of the Year at the state level. 

The 2020-2021  School Level Teachers of the Year are:

• Ashland City Elementary STEM Academy: Tommy Gossett

• East Cheatham Elementary School: Misty Stehle

• Kingston Springs Elementary School: Anna VanDerVoort

• Pegram Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School: Mike Parsley

• Pleasant View Elementary School: Erica Beaty

• West Cheatham Elementary School: Jessica Church

• Cheatham Middle School: Sue Mullican

• Harpeth Middle School: Dawn Green

• Sycamore Middle School: Petra Walls

• Cheatham County Central High School: Kathryn Van Mater

• Harpeth High School: Adam Sandor

• Sycamore High School: Shelby Tinch

• Riverside Academy: Aubrey Harris